Best friends.

Do you have people in your life that you constantly take for granted? It’s not like you mean to take them for granted, but they are always there for you so you kind of forget to appreciate them? I do. All of the time. My Meme and Papa are two that this happens to way more than it should. It really hit me over Thanksgiving when my sister and I were arguing over who should get one of my Papa’s watches. We stumbled on the watch he wore when he was in the Army in the 50’s. While we were fighting over it (it fit my wrist perfectly), I realized there are so many things I don’t know about my grandparents. Then one of my grandmother’s best friends died. Which is a devastating blow to begin with, but then I realized another one of her best friends died this year. And her sister. So if you think about it, my grandmother has lost three major players in her life. Three relationships she has had for 60+ years. Can you even imagine knowing and loving someone for that long? To top it all off, when I talked to her about it she said “I can’t even remember having one cross word with her and even if I don’t want to lose her, I’m glad she’s not suffering.” Wow. I would not have that reaction.  I would have been angry and bitter, but I guess my grandmother is the definition of aging with grace and poise.

Hearing her talk about it and thinking about how much she’s been through this year alone, it made me realize that I want to be the kind of person who has friendships that last my entire life. I want to value people that much; to care for them through everything. I guess I am learning who I want to be. There’s always silver lining in the pain. There’s always a reason to have hope.

What type of person do you want to be?

Leave a Reply

