Scabs

This post is going to be gross because apparently I’m a gross human being. Okay, that’s not true. Wounds just don’t bother me. Growing up, I was always that kid who was fascinated by the healing process. It was like “Oh, hey I cut my leg open but this really awesome and gross scab is going to form.” Rarely would I actually let the scab do its job and heal the wound. I’d always have to pick at it. Even though it hurt, I still picked at it. Sometimes because it was itchy, sometimes just because I was so amazed that my body was healing itself, sometimes just for the heck of it. Even though I heard over and over “It’s going to scar if you don’t leave it alone”, I still messed with it. Then I got older and here I am today: somewhat coordinated, not involved in contact sports anymore, not up on pointe ruining my feet, not running with scissors (I never did that). Truthfully the only injury I sustain anymore is the occasional blister from a fabulous pair of shoes, but the whole scab thing still fascinates me. I think what fascinates me the most about it is that it is a brilliant metaphor for emotional pain. (Just go with it). Over the past month, I was dealt a pretty painful wound and it was raw and hurt so bad I didn’t think I could stand it. Then thanks to some very good friends, I was forced to go out and not dwell at it, so a little scab formed over the open wound on my metaphoric heart. As the days went on, I could feel myself getting better. I knew it would take a long time to fully recover, but I was happy and I didn’t expect that to happen for months. The scab got tougher. It was doing it’s job. Now it only really hurts when I go looking for reasons to be sad. When I pick at it. So I sincerely hope I’ve learned something over the years. That scars form if you pick at scabs and it usually hurts a lot worse when you knock the whole thing off and have to start all over again.

I apologize for talking about gross scabs, but I can already tell I’m going to want to compare something to a bruise, and if you know me, you know how much bruises fascinate me. Have a fabulous Friday.

Leave a Reply

