Love. L-O-V-E, love.

I love love. I really do. I think it’s the best feeling in the world. I love the corny love songs and sending texts that say “xoxo”. It’s a known fact that I’m a hopeless romantic. I mean some of the things I have done in the name of love have ultimately embarrassed me or broken my heart, but it’s really go big or go home, right? So this post is not about how much I hate love or relationships because I don’t. I promise.

The most recent embarrassing proclamation of love was with my last boyfriend. For his birthday, I asked 22 of his friends/family to write what they loved about him or why they were thankful for him and I compiled it into a book. It was the best present I’ve ever given anyone. Then he broke up with me two weeks later. Yeah. Embarrassing. Not only did I find out he didn’t feel the same way, so did all of those people I asked to help surprise him for his birthday. Talk about a warm and fuzzy feeling…I’m still feeling a bit mortified over that one.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand. Love. How appropriate since it’s the week of Valentine’s day. I got to thinking today about how manufactured love has become. I know its especially manufactured right now with retail screaming at you that you don’t love someone unless you send them four dozen roses, their weight in chocolate and a teddy bear. Putting that all aside, I just want to comment on how it seems like everyone is so stuck on this idea that you aren’t complete without having a significant other. In a line from Lana Del Ray’s song “Video Games”, she sings “They say the world was built for two, only worth living if somebody is loving you.” She could not be more accurate. That’s how the majority of the population thinks. I guess I’m just sensitive to this issue because I was asked three times within 36 hours if I was a. seeing anyone special, b. okay with being single, and/or c. aware that I will meet the right person when the time is right. I have to wonder if I was a guy, would I be asked those questions on a regular basis? Would the world be as concerned with whether or not I was one half of a couple? Seriously, why is my romantic status more important than the fact that I graduated college early, got a job, and started supporting myself? Why is it so important that I belong to someone in order to be considered a success?

I guess I’m just really starting to realize that love is not a fancy dinner date or diamond ring. It can be whatever you want it to be. It’s a wife taking care of her sick husband when he has lost the will to take care of himself. It’s a mom surprising her daughters with chocolate milk on their weekend visit home. It’s a best friend saying “it’s all going to be okay” when you feel like your world is chaos. Love is a lot of things. I think that’s why people try so desperately to define it with material things. Personally, I think there are a lot of unhappy, miserable people in relationships just because that’s what they’re supposed to do. And as for me, I am completely fine with loving all of the people I love in all the different ways that I love them. The world isn’t built for two, and to all of the people worried about me because I’m not dating anyone, don’t. There is so much love in my life that I’m never lonely even though I’m alone.

Happy Valentine’s Day! Show someone you love them then do it again the day after.

Leave a Reply

