& a hug around the neck.

“I love you a bushel & a peck.”

For some reason that phrase has always been classified in my mind as being Southern, despite hearing it for the first time in the Broadway classic “Guys & Dolls”. There’s just something about comparing how much you love someone to a measurement that screams “Hi y’all, I was raised south of the Mason-Dixon line.” If you didn’t know, a bushel is about 35 liters and a peck is 2 dry gallons. One more fun fact: 4 pecks equals 1 bushel. Congratulations! You’ve just had your first Southern measurement lesson!

Back to the topic at hand, I cannot express how thankful I am to have been raised where I grew up. With the passing of my grandfather earlier this month, I have never seen such an outpouring of love and kindness from my community. While nothing will replace my papa by any means, I know he is just beaming with pride for his friends and family. So thank you friends, family, co-workers, and strangers. Thank you for loving us a bushel and a peck. You deserve a hug around the neck.

 

Leave a Reply

