musings

There’s this one thought that keeps haunting me: If you don’t start doing what you love, you’ll never get around to it. I probably mull it over at least three times a day, if not more. That leads to rabbit trails in my brain that ultimately ends in me feeling completely inspired and completely overwhelmed.  I have this brief period of “YES! I am young! I am capable! I can do whatever I want!” which is immediately followed by “Oh crap, I am committed to my full-time job from 7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.” and “Where do I begin?” Not to mention, I have an incredibly bad habit of going to bed at 10:00 p.m. (My dad even made fun of me for it Sunday). It’s just so much harder to fight off sleep when it’s only you and your giant, comfy bed in your apartment. (I have the same fight with junk food, too.)

The moral of this post is that I need to get off my butt and start taking action. How do I do this? I honestly don’t know. As I was telling some friends over dinner last week (one of which doesn’t know me very well and thought I was being conceited), I was raised to be the best at everything. Good grades and perfect attendance were expected. Soccer practice and dance lessons were not skipped. Therefore, I tried my best to shine at everything and I never figured out what really inspired me. That led to me just picking a major in college and graduating because it was too much trouble to switch majors. Lesson learned: if it’s going to have a direct influence on your happiness, it is not too much trouble!

So now what? Where do I start? I’ve been told several times over the years that I should write a book (and I’ve had several entertaining life experiences in the past 9 or 10 months that would give me material), but would anyone want to read what I wrote? I’m not Carrie Bradshaw. I don’t know how to be charming and witty on paper. On the other hand, I have wanted to own a bakery (complete with pastel pink spiral staircase) for years and years. I even had a dear professor send me home with a business plan book he borrowed from another college’s library just so I knew what I was getting myself into. But aren’t bakeries sort of a trendy thing now? Isn’t everyone doing it? Plus I would need practice…and who is going to eat all of the practice cupcakes and pies? Not me. Then my dad told me that he thinks I should take a class in photography. Now there’s an idea! But would photography satisfy my desire to craft and design things? I don’t know. See how hard this is?! I have to constantly remind myself that “You can do anything but you can’t do everything.” It’s a humbling and challenging thought.

On the bright side of things, I already have a logo designed for whatever avenue I take. I guess that’s a start. It’s too cute for it to go to waste. I better get my butt in gear.

Have a happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

