the woman i want to be.

I came across a quote by Diane Von Furstenberg the other day; “I didn’t really know what I wanted to do, but I knew the woman I wanted to become.”

That is my life as a 22 year old in a nutshell. I have absolutely no clue what I want to be/do. It feels like I’ve been asked this so many times in the past month that I’ve doubted everything, so stumbling across that quote was great. It made sense to me that as long as I know the type of woman I wanted to be, everything else would fall into place. That sparked the thought process of “Who do I want to be?” That’s easy, I want to be me, but I feel like we’re all just mixtures of the people in our lives. We’re a little bit of our mothers, our fathers, our grandparents. We have the same mannerisms as our siblings. We use the same language as our friends. With that in mind, I thought of all the influential women in my life. This will be a series of posts that describe all the women I want to be.

For this post, I want to be like my hairdressers. Haven’t you ever noticed women who work in the beauty industry have that extra bit of sparkle that we all wish we could pull off on a daily basis? Whether it’s colorful hair, glittery nails, or really fabulous shoes, they’re all beautiful and unique. There are two that come to mind; both from back home. And they’re probably so etched in my memory because they both come rushing to my defense saying things like “I’ll kick his ass” and “Oh, no, he didn’t!” when my mom relays the comings and goings in my life to them. They make no apologies for the lives they lead and they don’t let anyone walk all over top of them. That’s why I hope to be a little bit like them now and when I’m older. They possess the ability to tell women “Hey, you don’t need make-up or perfect hair to be beautiful…but life’s short and we should all have a little fun” and they kick some serious butt while doing it.

You’re probably not surprised these ladies make the cut. They’re fabulous and have glittery personalities, and everyone knows glitter is my favorite color.

Leave a Reply

