music.

I love music. Spending most of my childhood being driven from ballet to soccer practice, I grew up on the classics. Everything from the Beatles and Elton John to Journey and Chicago. There was even a little Commodores thrown in there for good measure. I remember hitting my pre-teen years and not being able to go anywhere without my cd player and headphones (and cd holder that was so jam packed it wouldn’t zip all the way). And I remember the first iPod I ever had. That is probably on my “Best. Gifts. Ever.” list. Needless to say, that was a roundabout way of telling you that I love love love music.

Of course I love songs individually. The stories they tell, the pictures they paint. But I think the thing I love most about music is that it’s like a little four minute time machine. Within a few seconds, a song can take back to a place or time in your life. It can bring up good memories or open an almost healed emotional scar. I think that’s why there’s always something new going on in the music industry. It takes us back in time and/or it makes us feel something. A few examples:

When I hear Crocodile Rock by Elton John, I remember the first time I had a dance costume with more than one component. I remember being eight years old and completely stressed out because not only did I have to remember my first ever tap number, I also had to keep up with seven different pieces to the costume.

When I hear Let’s Get It Started by the Black Eyed Peas, I can almost smell the gym at Dan River High before it was remodeled and feel the kneepads around my ankles before running out onto the volleyball court.

When I hear Time to Say Goodbye by Chris Botti, I’m immediately transported back to the scene of the best kiss I’ve ever had and I can tell you exactly what I was wearing and where I was.

Last but not least, when I hear Carrie Underwood’s I Told You So, my heart almost breaks in two again over my first real break-up with a boyfriend.

It just blows my mind that there are so many songs out there, so many artists and bands, and we’re all just living our lives assigning songs to events without even thinking about it. I think that’s why I get so excited to discover new music. All the new possibilities that come with it. Memories that haven’t been made yet, moments that haven’t been etched on our hearts and minds. Endless possibilities come with hitting the download button on your iPhone or ripping the cellophane off an album bought in the store. (Do people still do that?)

What are some of your favorite time machine songs?

 

And if you’re in the mood for some new music, check out Maroon 5’s cover of Kiss by Prince. Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

