cphs.

Do you have guilty pleasures? I do…and one of those is pop music. If someone asks me what kind of music I’m into, I immediately spout off that I love The Avett Brothers, Mumford & Sons, John Mayer, Jason Mraz, the Beatles, and just about all bands considered in the “Classic Rock” genre. But if my musical tastes were personified, she would definitely be rocking a bedazzled t-shirt/scrunchie number and carrying a Lisa Frank backpack. Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Beyonce…yes please. They’re my go-to girls. Hence the following quote:

Some women choose to follow men, and some women choose to follow their dreams. If you’re wondering which way to go, remember that your career will never wake up and tell you that it doesn’t love you anymore. -Lady Gaga

Today is my one year work anniversary! It’s quite possibly the healthiest relationship I have ever been in. Work and I see each other almost every day, but we’re not clingy when we’re not together. Work challenges me and pushes me to step out of my comfort zone, but  it also provides me with a fantastic support system and good relationships with great people.

Over the past year, I’ve doubted whether moving back to North Carolina and working at my alma mater was a good decision. I’ve definitely had bumps in the road and days where I thought everything was falling apart. On the other hand, I’ve seen firsthand the amazing things that CPHS does. So while I don’t completely agree with Miss Gaga up there, I fully support being a woman and going after your dreams. Even if it takes a million little baby steps to realize what your dreams are.

Leave a Reply

