don’t blink.

Are you familiar with that Kenny Chesney song “Don’t Blink”? If you’re in or around North Carolina, I’m sure you’ve heard it before. It’s premise is the all too often used phrased “time flies”. It turns out that phrase is used so much because it is true. Go figure, right?

As I’m sitting at my dining room table, looking across my apartment, I’m realizing that the past year has flown by. A year ago, I was picking out what shade of purple I wanted my walls to be. I was testing out couches and bedroom suites. I was planning this huge “big girl” life in my new apartment, in my new town. Turns out things don’t always go according to plan. But after a few setbacks, I found my own two feet again, and I finally feel settled into my little life in North Carolina. While I was planning for a life full of boyfriend outings, group gatherings, and home away from home meals, life had other plans for me and I ended up exactly with what I needed. I have a life full of determination, happiness, and independence. Sometimes I beat myself up and think “I’m not doing as well as I should be”, then I think about the reality of my life. I moved from a small town to a “big city”. I’m currently applying to grad school and I am successful at my job. I’m about as successful as a 22 year-old college graduate on her own is going to be.

So as I’m sitting here, drinking a mug of tea, feeling worn out from my 30 minute run and my agonizing study sessions, I can’t help but smile and cherish this moment. Before I know it, I’ll be on to my next great adventure.

Happy Thursday friends.

Leave a Reply

