tweet. tweet.

Twitter and Facebook. They are the bane of my existence; the things I hate to love. If I had to weigh them against each other, I would side with Twitter hands down. Facebook is too much of a snoop for me. I mean I know that I look at people’s pictures without commenting, scan my friends’ walls to see who they’re talking to/dating, and accept friend requests from people I met once while they were drunk. If I do all of that, there’s no telling what other people do. It’s a little too invasive for me, but yet there I am logging in, updating my status, and posting pictures. You’re deemed “unsocial” if you’re not on Facebook. Then there’s Twitter. Now I love Twitter. I think I love it so much because I tend to ramble and it cuts me off. It forces me to find a way to say what I want to say in 140 characters or less (and you better believe I’m not going to shorten words or “typ lik dis” to make a tweet send). This has come in handy in tons of work emails where I catch myself going on and on about having a great day and asking about weekend plans. (I also tend to use the word “please” a lot in my work emails…I hope people don’t see me as a 12 year-old.)

I don’t know about you, but this whole Aurora shooting incident made me more aware of my online presence. The people of the Internet tracked down the victims online in a matter of hours. The news reports were soon posting profile pictures of the victims so we could put faces with names. I even read of instances where two other James Holmes in the Denver area were being harassed via Facebook. It was almost morbid, and come on, I’m a funeral director’s daughter so that says something. To add insult to injury, we got Twitter handles and people’s last tweets were being immortalized. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be remembered by my tweet to American Airlines complaining about being on hold or some arbitrary lyrics of the song I just happen to be dancing to on my commute home. (P.s. Don’t tweet and drive!).

I guess all of this goes to say bad things will always happen and now more than ever, the things we post online will always be with us.

Wishing you careful tweets and proper grammar in your Facebook posts!

Leave a Reply

