flowers, flowers, everywhere.

It may come as no surprise, but I love flowers. I’m going to continue to blame this on many years of dance recitals where it was customary to receive flowers from parents, grandparents, and friends. I know what you’re thinking. “Leah, flowers are wasteful. They serve no purpose. They just die!” Well you are wrong. Hibiscus is one of the main ingredients in my favorite tea, and nothing beautiful is wasteful. Every now and then, I’ll splurge on a $15 bouquet from the grocery store or farmer’s market that I put in this gorgeous vase my mother gave me. There’s nothing like fresh flowers to make you smile a little bigger and keep your apartment a little tidier. (Just don’t forget to throw them out when they’ve died and you’re leaving for the weekend — talk about an awful smell!)

Why am I telling you all of this? So you can send me flowers of course! Just kidding. On my way to work this morning, I decided working at a flower shop would be my dream job. Making beautiful floral arrangements, delivering bouquets to smiling faces, and working in a creative environment is right up my alley. Not to mention, an endless stream of flowers in my house that the shop couldn’t use. I am absolutely convinced that I need to find a part-time job on Saturdays at a florist. Now where to start?!

There is a little flower shop in Raleigh that puts on design classes, much like those wine and design painting classes. For a fee, you can learn how to design whatever piece they’re creating that night. Well I’ve inquired when the next class will be. Now if only I knew of a local flower shop that needs a flower-loving delivery girl on Saturdays. Any takers?

Leave a Reply

