happiness.

“And I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.” — Kurt Vonnegut

That moment came to me this morning at 1:30 while I was driving back from picking up a friend from the airport. I didn’t realize how much I had missed him in the three months since he moved away. Our friendship is one of those where we could talk for hours about classic rock music, books, or Alabama football. He loves that he can treat me like one of the guys and I love that he gives me insight on how to determine if a guy is worthy of dating or not. It’s one of those friendships where we can get in a heated debate over religion, but end the conversation with “I still love ya.” I didn’t realize how much meaning the simple task of picking him up at the airport would have, but in that moment when he walked through the terminal to hug me so hard that he picked me up off the ground, I felt content. I guess the middle of the night makes you aware of things you wouldn’t ordinarily have time to think about, like how important it is to surround yourself with people who see you for exactly who you are.

As I was merging back onto the highway at 1:30 a.m., with one of my most favorite songs on the radio, I had this overwhelming sense of “This is pure happiness. This is what life should be about.” When I woke up this morning after a mere four hours of sleep, I still felt content and remembered one of my favorite Kurt Vonnegut quotes, and I thought to myself, “If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.”

Happy Friday, folks!

Leave a Reply

