Alt-Rock/Rockin’ Round the Christmas Tree

I haven’t talked about music recently which is unusual for me. Over the summer, I got into a bad habit of spending a lot of money on music. I am all about supporting artists and bands, but I also need to support myself. Enter Spotify. It’s a great little invention. I have playlists on playlists  on playlists. I have playlists dedicated to moods, to travel, to work-related activities. Here’s a list of my top five additions to my work playlist for this week:

1. Little Talks – Of Monsters and Men
2. The Once and Future Carpenter – The Avett Brothers
3. Some Nights – Fun.
4. Ho Hey – The Lumineers
5. It’s Time – Imagine Dragon

I’ve been on an alt-rock kick lately. Don’t judge.

Now onto my favorite part of this post! I spent the beginning of the week creating a perfect holiday playlist. That’s a bold statement, I know. And I bet you’re wondering “Why in the world is she listening to Christmas music in September?!”. I must admit, I’m already getting excited about the holidays. It will definitely be different this year without my Papa, but I think that having a positive attitude is the best way to approach something new/different. Plus he loved Christmas, so why shouldn’t we celebrate? Therefore, I’m listening to Christmas music and planning gifts already. And I can almost guarantee that my apartment will be tricked out for Halloween this weekend (“tricked” out…get it? I’m a nerd). So here’s my perfect holiday playlist. Feel free to let me know if I’ve missed any classics!

(I know the classic “Linus & Lucy” from A Charlie Brown Christmas is missing, but that’s a year-round song for me!)

Leave a Reply

