Rabbit, Rabbit, Rabbit!

November 1st. Wow…it feels like yesterday that I was ringing in the new year and celebrating my golden birthday. I was always told not to wish my life away because it goes by so fast…boy, were they right about that! Anyway, Happy November! I hope your Halloween was splendid and that you gave away candy to more superheroes and princesses than goblins and ghosts. To honor the month of Thanksgiving, I would like to write about things I’m thankful for throughout the next thirty days. I have hopes to write something every day, but without even glancing at my schedule I know that won’t happen. I’ll do my best to make time to take this task on.

What I’m thankful for…Days 1, 2, 3, and 4  (I’m going to the beach tomorrow…and I refuse to take a laptop with me!)

Day 1:

My mother – without a doubt she is my best friend. She has been listening to me whine about my day over the phone for the past five years. Before that, she had to deal with me as a teenager, preteen, and child. The woman deserves a medal. She has graciously taken me back after I’ve put someone else’s family above my own. She’s Wonder Woman, I swear. I just haven’t found her invisible plane yet.

Day 2:

Scarves – I mean seriously…it’s like a sweater for your neck that you can remove in public when you get too warm (and not get judgmental looks!). How can you not be thankful for that? And they come in so many shapes, sizes and COLORS! Why, yes, I do think I’ll pair this lime green/chartreuse number with my all-black ensemble. Thanks, scarf, for not letting me look like goth/hipster-Leah from 8th grade.

Day 3:

Heartbreak – hear me out here. Heartbreak sucks. (Sorry, Mom, I know you hate that word). Heartbreak makes you feel miserable, it makes you walk around in sweats for days because you’ve been too busy crying your eyes out that you haven’t done laundry in three weeks. I’m not just talking about romantic heartbreak. I mean the heartbreak that comes with grief and disappointment too. But I’m thankful for it. I mean without disappointments and goodbyes, we would have no foundation for appreciation, love, and thankfulness. As A.A. Milne penned in Winnie-the-Pooh, “How lucky am I to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.”

Day 4:

My sister – never in my life have I encountered someone who can be so frustrating one minute and my partner in crime the next. She keeps me grounded and tells me when I’m doing something dumb. She really has been my role model since day 1. I think this picture proves that:

Happy November, y’all. Before you know it, we’ll be trimming the tree and looking out for Santa. Oh, who am I kidding, I’m totally going to decorate next week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

