Put on your Christmas sweaters!

As you may or may not know, my family has a cat. Her name is Jasmine because my mom was adamant about not having a pet named Fluffy, Boots or Mittens. She’s an almost pure-bred Himalayan and she thinks she’s a princess. We got her after I shamelessly pleaded to my father that I was the only kid in my class who didn’t have a pet, and he said I could get a kitten.

That is Jasmine. Abby and I have both become allergic to her and I swear she only likes my mom. Well my parents were out of town last week and boarded her at the vet’s office where she was to be groomed before they picked her back up. Mom was telling me all of this a couple of weeks ago and I thought, “That’ll be nice, she always looks fabulous after a trim.” Well then my mom sent me this picture:

She looks like an old, gray lion, right?! Poor thing. Abby’s boyfriend has started referring to her as Rafiki because Mufasa was too manly of a name for her. After expressing my concern that she might get cold, my mom went out and bought her a sweater and sent Abby and I this picture with the caption “This one is a little too small. Will exchange for a medium.”

Poor Jasmine. Maybe I should buy her a fur coat this year for Christmas.

Catching up on my Thankfulness!

Day 10:

Jasmine! –  Just consider this post as a dedication to her!

Day 11:

CookOut milkshakes – Or as my dear friend Kristina would say “CookOut milkshakes from CookOut”. Their pineapple milkshake is to die for! Plus it’s the only fast food restaurant I’ve been to that offers to mix any combination of flavors into one milkshake to make you happy. And for added yummy goodness, order some fries and dip them in!

Day 12:

USA – How could I make this list without being thankful for my freedom? I’m blessed beyond belief to live in a country where I can go to school, get a job, and dream as big as I want. Yes, our country might not always get along, but I’m thankful to live in a place where I’m not told what opinions to have. Freedom is not free and I am so thankful to be American.

Day 13:

Good health – This one always goes unnoticed, but how blessed am I to not have anything medically wrong with me?! Aside from the tonsil incident in 2009, I’ve had a perfectly clean bill of health. How lucky am I to be able to get up in the morning, feel the coolness of my apartment, see what clothes to put on, and drive myself to work. I take it for granted every single day.

Day 14:

Peanuts Gang – This one is a little silly, I know. I love the Peanuts gang. Snoopy is totally my spirit animal. Since my senior year of high school when we did “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown”, I have just been in love with the comic strip and characters. Maybe I’m longing for my childhood…or maybe I’m just a real-life Lucy Van Pelt. 🙂

Day 15:

My Papa – I lost one of the best people in the world this year in March. You can read about him here. The world just isn’t the same without him, but I am so thankful for the time we did have together. From the silly Donald Duck noises he made to the wildly inappropriate sayings during card games, I will always cherish the blessing that was my Papa. To have someone so completely different from you love you more than he loved himself…now that is a gift to be thankful for. 

Leave a Reply

