There’s No Such Thing as a Free Lunch

Y’all…I’m about to go on a rant about my new favorite thing. My lunchbox! I know, I know. You’re probably thinking that my life must be pretty boring if I’m thrilled about a lunchbox, but it is amazing. First things first – it was a Christmas gift from my wonderful grandmother. Meme has tried her best to instill in Abby and I how important it is to pack our lunches. She worked for over 50 years and packed her lunch almost every day. When she retired, she calculated at $5.00 a lunch, she saved about $40,000. Now that’s over the course of 50 years and not adjusted for inflation. However, I have a bad habit of walking over to the student center on campus and buying sushi that runs around $6.99 and with a soda, my total is usually in the $8-10 range. So say I eat sushi for lunch twice a week – that’s around $850 a year. It’s ridiculous when you add it all up.

Back to the lunchbox – it came disguised in a brown zippered insulated bag that looks like a purse. At first glance, I was like “Oh, no thank you. I just bought a stylish bag that will double as a lunch box.” Then I opened it up. Inside was the most perfect lunch container. My little OCD heart was just a fluttering away. It’s a Fit & Fresh container that’s really three containers in one. It’s rectangular and the main container can hold up to 8 cups, then it has two 1 cup containers for sides and snacks, and finally a slim-line ice pack that will snap into the lid or sit in the middle of the container. You can find more information here (but sadly they’re sold out at the moment!).

So for lunch today, I filled the bottom of the big container with lettuce, Parmesan cheese and croutons, locked the ice pack in the middle, and added the two mini containers (holding hard boiled eggs and grapes, respectively) on top of it all. It was perfection in a box if I do say so myself. Happy lunchtimes everyone!

Leave a Reply

