New York City Part 2

On day 2 of our fabulous trip, Sarah and I hit the streets! We made our way to Macy’s to admire the world’s largest store. This store always blows me away. The first time I saw it was during the annual flower show, and it is amazing what artists and designers can do with flowers. However this time, the store was all decked out for Christmas and it was beautiful! Although there was this really obnoxious LED light fixture in the main entryway – every time someone walked in (so basically ALL the time) it flashed bright red. I thought I was going to have a seizure right in the middle of the doorway.

Lights!

Our next stop, after taking a ride on the wooden escalators behind a darling little boy singing “Jingle Bells”, was 5th Avenue. I could have spent hours looking at all of the fabulous window displays. There’s not enough that can be said about the creativity and passion you see in those windows. I think “window dresser” at Bergdorf’s is now my dream job.

After popping in a little deli for lunch, we made our way back to the hotel for a quick nap and time to get ready for the night we were waiting for! PHANTOM OF THE OPERA! This was Sarah’s first Broadway experience and my first time seeing Phantom on the stage. Words can’t do it justice. Our seats were phenomenal (and half-price, holla!) and I was mesmerized for the entire show. Although I must say, I like Gerard Butler’s Phantom way more than the stage Phantom. He’s a romantic…Broadway Phantom wears a floppy hat and sparkly cape. What’s up with that?

phantom

(Sorry for the grainy iPhone pic, it was the best I could do with what I had)

After the show, we were planning to hang out in Times Square for a bit but we decided it was a little too sketchy and tacky for our tastes so we ate some cheesecake and went to bed early. We had to get our beauty sleep before seeing the Rockettes the next morning!

Part 3 coming up shortly!

One thought on “New York City Part 2

Leave a Reply

