Folk Writing Challenge Week 2

This is a continuation of a writing challenge from Folk Lifestyle. The first post can be found here.

What short term and long term goals do you hope to achieve this year? How are your New Year’s Resolutions holding up?

This is a tough question for me. I’m very detailed oriented and I like to have things listed in steps. I like knowing where to go when I’m finished with a task. However, I’m very challenged in the goal setting category. I’m great at accomplishing things other people want me to do, but I can’t for the life of me make my own goals. With that being said, I’m actually glad this question popped up. It’s forcing me to do something I don’t like.

I’m going to define my short-term goals as things I can accomplish in six months or less. These would include: getting back into shape for the summer, making an A in the class I’m about to start, keeping my spending to a minimum, and doing things for myself.

My long-term goals would be things I can accomplish by December 31, 2013. These would include: reading 75 books (which is a resolution!), saving money for a big trip after I graduate with my MBA, moving out of my first “big-girl” apartment, and taking up a new hobby that I’ve always thought was cool (painting!).

As for my resolutions, I’m only a week in but I have been eating healthier. I’ve learned that I only eat junk food if I buy it, and it’s not hard to resist buying it. I have recognized that I was people-pleasing and put an end to it as hard as it was. I have met my Gympact pact for the week. And I am almost finished with one book and started another.

2013, I think you’re going to be alright.

One thought on “Folk Writing Challenge Week 2

Leave a Reply

