New York City: Part 3….finally!

This is the third and final part of my trip to NYC at Christmas. You can find part one here and part two here. Thanks for hanging in there and waiting patiently.

Day 3 of our trip started with a short trip down 6th Avenue to the Radio City Music Hall to see the Rockettes’ Christmas show. Sarah and I both grew up in pink tights and leotards with the dream of one day being a Rockette. With the gorgeous costumes and their long legs, who wouldn’t want to be a New York City Christmas tradition for a living?! Plus our tap teacher, who struck fear in every dancer who came within ten feet of her, was a Rockette in her younger years. The show was phenomenal. It showcased the history of the show and ended with a living nativity scene complete with camels! Any show that puts not one, but two, camels on a stage is a show after my own heart. It was a magical hour and a half. If the traveling show comes anywhere close to you, you must go see it. You won’t regret it.

Sarah park

After the show, we meandered our way through Central Park. It was an overcast day, but it wasn’t too terribly cold and it wasn’t raining! We walked by Strawberry Fields, where two girls were laying in the middle of the Imagine mosiac for a photo op. Sarah and I might have judged them just a little bit…especially since one of the girls was wearing a white coat. Every Southern girl knows you don’t wear white after Labor Day, and you sure as heck don’t lay on the ground while wearing it!

From there we wandered up to a very popular spot for movies and tv shows to film. Sarah kept talking about Home Alone 2: Lost in New York. Apparently this spot was where Kevin was trying to lose the bad guys. I think she seriously debated our friendship when I told her I had never seen it. Then we found the Boat House, or as we kept calling it “The Boat House! The one in 27 Dresses! That one!” I wish I was kidding about that, but I’m not. We decided to stop in for lunch and champagne. After all, the world hadn’t ended (it was December 21), we were both on break for the semester, and we had so much to celebrate!

After lunch, we walked to the Met to feed ourselves with some culture. I never quite know how to take art museums. I know I like them, but I’m not sure what to do with them. I visited one in London that I could spend days in, but I couldn’t pinpoint why I wanted to. I felt the same about the Met. It inspired me and overwhelmed all at the same time. There were pieces that didn’t phase me and there were some that shook me to the core.

met colors

Lucky for us, the Met was featuring an exhibit with Andy Warhol’s work. I love Warhol’s portrait of Jackie O. It’s my favorite, and I was so excited to see it in person. That exhibit also featured other artists’ work and it had some strange and unusual pieces. For instance, there was a mold of a male butt with human hair on it and a chainsaw covered in Chanel bags (Sarah’s favorite piece). Unfortunately (or fortunately), we couldn’t take pictures in that exhibit.

We ended our day back in Central Park where we found the Alice in Wonderland statue. There was an adorable family taking a picture of their baby girl on the mushroom, so we offered to take a picture of the whole family. This was another moment where I got to say “y’all” a lot. I’m sure they thought I was the nicest redneck they had ever met.

Alice

That night we made our way back to Macy’s and Bryant Park to purchase a few last minute Christmas gifts and stopped by a street vendor for a snack. The next morning, it was off to the train station to head back to Virginia (also known as the train ride from hell). I’ll spare you the gory details on that.  Our next trip is to Texas or Colorado — somewhere where a good “y’all” and cowboy boots are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

