You know I like my chicken fried…rice

As you may know, I made a list of 23 things that I need to accomplish while I’m 23. Well number 9 on that list is: learn how to make chicken fried rice. Chicken fried rice is quite possibly my most favorite comfort food. I don’t really like chicken, so I’m honestly quite baffled by the fact that I love it so much. Maybe I’m just addicted to salt and it allows me to put copious amounts of soy sauce on it. Who knows? It’s one of the great mysteries of our time.

fly rice

To make this glorious dish, I adapted a recipe for chicken fried quinoa I found on Pinterest. It started with garlic and I must say, it was interesting but I probably won’t add garlic to it ever again so I left it out of the instructions. Also, make sure you chop, mince, dice your vegetables before hand. It makes your life and the rice’s life so much easier.

Ingredients:
Five minute brown rice
Olive Oil
1 yellow onion
1 zucchini
Broccoli
Baby carrots
1 egg
Green onions (optional)
Soy sauce

Step 1. Throw some brown rice in the microwave with equal parts rice and water. Cook for about 7 minutes.

Step 2. Heat 1 tablespoon (give or take) of olive oil in a medium pan and add chopped onions. Cook until onions are clear.

Step 3. Add broccoli, zucchini, and carrots. Personally, I love broccoli, zucchini and carrots so I added a ton! The key to this step is to make sure the veggies are tender no matter how many you use.

Step 4. Add the cooked brown rice and toss it around for a bit.

Step 5. Pour the egg (beaten) into the middle of the pan and stir quickly so you don’t have a scrambled egg in the middle of your rice.

Step 6. Add the green onions and 1 tablespoon of soy sauce.

Step 7. Let cool and serve! I added some more soy sauce to mine but that’s because I’m a sodium addict and I’m going to die of high blood pressure.

Step 8 (optional). Freak out because you forgot to add peas.

One thought on “You know I like my chicken fried…rice

Leave a Reply

