The “Meh, It was Alright” Gatsby.

Have you ever been so excited for something only to be letdown? That’s my experience with Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby. I was so excited to see it the moment I saw rumors that a Gatsby film was being made a couple of years ago. I began searching for little bits and pieces of information about it – Leo was playing Gatsby. Great! There’s no one else better suited for that role. It was being released Christmas 2012 – awesome! It’s getting pushed back to Summer 2013 – finnneeee. I even purchased a fresh copy of the book to carry around with me/display on my coffee table. But all of that was in vain – The Great Gatsby left me feeling like something was missing. Don’t get me wrong – it was a good movie – but something just felt off  about it. Maybe it was the crazy party scenes that felt too modern for the time period. Maybe it was that I had put too much stock into a movie version of this classic.  Or maybe I just didn’t need to see the despicable Daisy Buchanan brought to life. Either way, I give it 3 out of 5 stars. It didn’t live up to my expectations, but it didn’t sway me from wanting this sweatshirt from ModCloth either. gatsby

Leave a Reply

