I heart food.

I like food. I really like food. So much so that that’s all I’m going to talk about today.

I spent this past Saturday morning at Aldi, where I bought two of everything for my one person household. In hindsight, I should have gone to the Farmer’s Market in Raleigh, but it was raining and super muggy. I bought  two bags of grapes, two containers of strawberries, two different kinds of bread and even two packages of mini Babybel cheeses. This probably had a lot to do with the fact I hadn’t had breakfast. Never shop when you’re hungry.

Anyway, I decided to try the fruit cleaning trick I’ve been seeing floating around on Pinterest and Facebook. 1 bowl (or sink in my case) of water, 1 cup of white vinegar, and 15 minutes to soak.

fruits!

I should have taken a picture of the “after” water. It was gross and grimy, but my fruit now sparkles and shines. I would definitely recommend doing this. I used it on my veggies as well. It also forces you to store everything properly instead of just leaving the plastic strawberry boxes half-opened in the fridge.

After a much-needed nap, I decided to make some parmesan garlic knots for dinner. I took a can of Pillsbury breadstick dough and balled each individual stick of dough into a ball. (Frozen dinner rolls – thawed – would work well, too). I melted half a stick of butter in the microwave with a half teaspoon of onion powder and teaspoon of garlic salt. From there, I dipped the balls of dough into the butter mixture and plopped them into a disposable aluminum foil baking pan. I added a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and tossed it into the oven for about 25 minutes. Yum!

noms

Now that I’ve thoroughly made myself hungry, I’m going to go watch the clock until it’s time for lunch at the Taco Trailer. Happy Taco Tuesday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

