mama bear.

Y’all – I had my first “mama bear” moment this morning. And to make matters worse, I don’t even really know the child I was feeling protective over. So what happened, you ask? Well it all started by me opening Instagram. I love Instagram – I’m that girl who’s taking pictures of her food before she eats it at almost every meal. I’m sure if you follow me, you roll your eyes at me at least once a week. I even posted a selfie this week (oh – the horror!).

Anyway, I opened Instagram and saw that someone had requested to follow me. At first I didn’t recognize the name, and then it hit me – it was the child of one of my mom’s old friends. Someone that should only be like ten or eleven if that. Someone whose dad used to hide his beer in inconspicuous plastic tumblers so my sister and I wouldn’t know that he was drinking. My first thought was “WHY?! Why does this child have an iProduct?” then I started scrolling through their feed (which made me feel like a pedophile) and saw a mixture of pictures of themselves and then screenshots of graphics that float around the interwebs saying things like “When life gives you lemons, add vodka”.

Oh my gosh – I almost had an aneurysm. I wanted to shake this child and say, “You deserve to have a childhood – stop trying to be an adult!” It was so unnerving to me. Like is this what kids these days do? What happened to sports and being so nervous to call your friends because their parents might answer? Finally, I consoled myself with the fact that they will grow up and (hopefully) realize that being an adult is not all it’s cracked up to be and popularity on the internet shouldn’t be your life’s ambition. That and they’ll probably hit that stage where they’re embarrassed by what they said online when they were 11-ish. Heck, I’m embarrassed by things I posted on Facebook last week.

Leave a Reply

