Shrimpies!

Inspired by the fact that the Pioneer Woman calls shrimp “shrimpies” like me, I decided to throw caution to the wind and to make her shrimpie quesadillas. I had a sick boyfriend on my hands and lots of groceries due to the fact that we are trying to be more contentious about going out to eat, so I picked up some NyQuil for the boy and went home to cook!

Photo Nov 14, 6 17 52 PM

Her recipe is quite easy, and the only trouble I ran into was the flipping of the quesadilla but I remedied that by making half quesadillas at a time. I adapted it slightly to use what I had on hand.

Cast of characters:

  • 1 bag of peeled, deveined frozen shrimpies, thawed
  • 1 can of enchilada (red) sauce
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 onion
  • mexican blend shredded cheese
  • whole wheat flour tortillas
  • butter
  • sour cream
  • olive oil

Now for the schedule of events:

  1. Thawed the shrimpies and threw them in a bowl with the enchilada sauce
  2. Chopped up the onion and green pepper
  3. Laughed at the boy who was wandering around my apartment in my leopard print Snuggie that was held together in the back with chip clips
  4. Threw some olive oil in a skillet and turn it on high until it was smoking
  5. Threw the veggies in the skillet – disclaimer: do this carefully or you’ll burn yourself with hot oil splatters. Heed my advice.
  6. Cooked them briefly until they turned brown/black
  7. Removed them from the skillet and set aside
  8. Threw shrimpies into skillet and cooked until they became opaque
  9. Removed them and chopped them into smaller pieces
  10. Added butter to the skillet and added a tortilla
  11. Placed shredded cheese, veggies and shrimpies on of the tortilla (and then added more cheese)
  12. Placed a second tortilla on top and flipped

And BAM! There’s a tasty shrimp quesadilla waiting to be smothered in sour cream and salsa.

Photo Nov 14, 6 37 59 PM

 

 

Leave a Reply

