present.

I have a routine in the mornings and I get a little grumbly if that routine gets messed up. I’m my father’s daughter, what can I say? This routine happens in the following order:

  1. 45 minute gym session
  2. Shower/primp for the day
  3. Brew a cup of coffee & take my vitamins
  4. Make lunch, if I didn’t make it the night before
  5. Make breakfast
  6. Eat breakfast, drink coffee & catch up on my Pinterest/Facebook posts I missed in the past 12 or so hours
  7. Clean up & go to work

This morning I was in the middle of breakfast and skimming Facebook when I found a friend’s link to an article titled “Life Won’t Begin at Your Next Milestone.

As much as I would like to say it hit me like a ton of bricks, I think it was more of God saying that I’m right to think that being discontent with this stage of my life is ridiculous.

What do I mean by that? Well, as a child, you can’t help but compare your things with other kids’ things. You want your toys & gadgets to be just as cool, if not cooler, than everyone else’s. You want your clothes to be the “right” style and brand. But as a young adult, I’m starting to compare my life experiences with everyone else’s. From my point of view, this thought process has left me feeling lost. I have compared my life experiences with my peers and felt like an outcast because those experiences haven’t involved partying or one night stands. On the other hand, my life experiences don’t match those of my professional colleagues because I’m so much younger than everyone else.

All of this comparing really made me feel like I wouldn’t be complete until I got a second degree, or got married or was older than 25. But this article confirmed all of those second thoughts I had about my original logic. You see, in the back of my mind I was telling myself, “Enjoy the moment” and “You’re not them”. My conscience was doing double time to calm me down and reassure me that the moments I’m experiencing right now are making me into the person I need/want to be so that those milestones that I’m waiting for are even better than I can imagine.

I guess what all of this means to me is that I need to stop rushing to the next moment, the next achievement, the next milestone and enjoy the experience. The joy is in the journey.

Oh, and my little page-a-day calendar aptly said today:

“I avoid looking forward or backward, and try to keep looking upward.” -Charlotte Bronte

Leave a Reply

