lazy.

I’m incredibly lazy. Case in point, the frequency of the updates on this blog. I’m not the kind of lazy where I lay on the couch in sweatpants for days on end. Nor am I the kind of lazy who uses the floor as a shelf for everything. However, I am the kind of lazy that sneaks up on you. The kind that says “Oh, you don’t really need to put on your make-up or fix your hair today” and “It’s a little too chilly outside this morning, don’t worry about going to the gym.”

It’s good that I’ve identified this though. I’ve learned that as long as I have a plan in place, I can overcome the urge to be lazy. This means writing a meal plan for the week so I’m not tempted by delicious Chinese take-out or my emotional eating trigger known as Papa John’s garlic parmesan breadsticks. It means pulling out everything I need to get ready in the morning before I start getting ready.

So why am I talking about all of this?

Since December 30, I’ve been going to the gym. It’s been an adjustment. I have to force myself to get out of bed at 4:45 in the morning, and if my workout gear is not laid out the night before I tend to talk myself out of going. Once I’m there, I’m usually good to go as long as I’m on a machine that I know how to operate. I finally feel like I’m mastering the laziness that has conquered my attitude about myself, my body image and my enthusiasm for life. My body now trumps my mind when I get on the treadmill and just try to walk for 20 minutes. Before I know it, I’m running and I’ve  burned 250 calories. I feel better about myself and I’m starting see the calf muscles I used to have in my soccer playing days.

Here’s to fighting off the lazy demons! Oh, and I think I’ve decided to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon in 2015. It’s on my 25th birthday after all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

