5K does not equal $5,000

The last time I checked in with you I told you all about how I’ve started to run and I briefly mentioned signing up for a 5K. Well the 5K came and went and it was pretty awesome! I mean, it was cold and rainy and torturous, but it was awesome! Abby and I both set goals for ourselves and squeaked out times that were respectable and met our goals. Well I squeaked by; Abby annihilated her goal. (You goal, girl!)

First medals!(Post-race with our first-ever running medals! We both finished second in our age groups.)

My favorite part of the whole thing is that it was this big group of people, of all shapes, sizes, and ages, working individually towards one goal. I was surrounded by people who wanted the same thing I did – to cross the finish line – the entire time. It was also pretty cool to run through a town I had driven through countless times, and get up close and personal with it’s charming qualities. The cute little cheer teams around each corner didn’t hurt either.

All in all, I think I like running a lot more than I anticipated. I mean I went to Tennessee last week and packed my running shoes before anything else. I’m pretty sure I said, “That was the best treadmill I have ever seen!” to about 4 different people when talking about working out in the hotel fitness center. Six months ago, I would have laughed at the idea of going to the hotel gym on a trip!

High points so far: I have just been over-the-moon impressed with myself for getting up to 4 miles.
Biggest challenge: Running is a total mind game. I get in a mental fistfight with myself every day before lacing up my shoes and heading out the door. That and I think I have a bunion. It hurts. I need to go see a doctor.
Next goal to accomplish: Running a 6 miles in an hour!
Things I’m excited about: Making a final decision about our costumes for the half-marathon!

3 thoughts on “5K does not equal $5,000

  1. dnardi710 says:

    Yay – congrats on the 5k! And 2nd in your age group?? That’s awesome! Keep it up and love that you set goals for yourself along the way. What half marathon are you doing??

  2. dnardi710 says:

    Oops – just remembered you’re doing the Princess Half, right??! I can’t wait to hear about it, that’s one of the runDisney events I haven’t done yet! Good luck with your training and let me know if you have any questions along the way!

Leave a Reply

