Week 2 – I’m Flirting with Running.

Race day (and my 25th birthday) is a mere 10 weeks away! That’s so hard to believe. It feels like just yesterday, Abby and I were feverishly trying to get into runDisney’s website to register for the race.

Again, I’m using the coaching feature in the Nike+ Running app. It is a 12 week training program that schedules running and cross-training days for you each week up until race day. This week was Week 2 AKA Fundamentals.

Monday – 3 miles – 35:01

Tuesday – 5 miles – 62:02

Wednesday – Crosstrain

Thursday – Rest day

Friday – 3 miles – 31:48 (shaved 3.5 minutes off last week’s time!)

Saturday – 5 miles –  55:04 (shaved 7 minutes off Tuesday’s 5-miler)

Sunday – Rest day

This week was much better than last week. Well at least the last half of it was. Friday morning, I went for my run before work and ran my fastest mile ever since using the Nike+ Running app. I was so encouraged – I felt unstoppable! Saturday, it was super cold and all I wanted to do was lay in bed, but I decided to get the 5 mile run in that morning because I had to work that afternoon. I decided to test out some fueling techniques and oh my gosh – what a difference! After I walked for 2 minutes, I ran 16 minutes without stopping, y’all. That has never happened in my life. Not even in my soccer days. When I realized that, I felt a mixture of pride and determination. I finished that run by running 11 minutes and walking 2 until I finished the 5 miles. My pace was 5.4 mph, which is leisurely, and that allowed me to run a mile, walk .20-.25 then get back to running.

My fueling technique was nothing special. I just ate a peanut butter sandwich and took an Aleve about 45 minutes to an hour before I hit the gym. Who knew that my pre-game ritual from high school would still help me out?! I also have been reading about energy gels and alternatives for bursts of fuel while running. I went the easy candy route or as I told Abby, “Strategically placed Starbursts”. I would eat one about every 18-20 minutes. It’s weird how you can manipulate the body and mind to do what you want it to do. Here’s to another good running week ahead!

Weekly mileage: 16 miles

Leave a Reply

