beef jerky & dog treats.

Shane purchased a food dehydrator back before Christmas, and I’ve been itching to get my hands on it. However, with planned family visits, running, and general holiday chaos, I  decided I needed to wait until I had some spare brain power before I went sucking the moisture out of things.

Yesterday, I worked from home and decided to tackle my first batch of beef jerky. It’s amazing the kind of time you have when you don’t have to get ready for work, drive to work, drive home from work, or cook dinner. (Shane had to fend for himself with the leftovers in the fridge).

Our dehydrator is a Sedona Raw Food Dehydrator. It can operate fully with 9 trays, or only use half the machine for 4 trays. I thought that was kind of a nice feature since I was only using 3 trays for my jerky.

I spent a couple of minutes searching Pinterest for jerky recipes, but I couldn’t really find a winner. I decided to make my own marinade, use a flank steak that had been living in the freezer for a month or so, and go from there.

jerky

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb. flank steak, cleaned of fat and sliced into thin strips
  • 2/3 cup soy sauce
  • 2/3 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • .5 tablespoon honey
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder

After cleaning the meat and slicing it in thin strips, I let it rest in a bowl of the marinade for a couple of hours in the fridge. If I had planned better, I would have soaked it over night. But I really wanted jerky last night, so I rushed it.

From there, I pulled the strips out onto paper towels and patted the meat dry to prevent any dripping in the machine. Then I laid the strips on the trays evenly and inserted them into the machine. I set it at 155*F for 6 hours.

The final product is amazing. So much better than store-bought jerky. I could never get over the weird sweet taste of the prepackaged stuff from convenience stores. I would always make myself eat it for a quick burst of protein after a run, but man, oh man. This homemade stuff if amazing.

Hunter also got a treat. I found this homemade peanut butter pumpkin dog treat recipe from Damn Delicious. Every single recipe I’ve tried from her website has been wonderful. Most of my go-to recipes are Damn Delicious recipes – one-pot garlic parmesan pasta, beef and broccoli, and the crab artichoke dip are my all-time favorites. 

Hunter absolutely loved the homemade treats and they were significantly cheaper than buying a small bag of beggin’ strips or meaty bones. I got about 22 gingerbread men (the only cookie cutter I had on hand) out of one batch of dough. I guessitimated a half of peanut butter pumpkin man is a serving size for him (he’s a 70 pound Husky), so almost 50 treats from about $4 of ingredients. Not bad. Not bad at all.

Happy Friday, y’all. If I get through my 9 mile run tomorrow, I get to go see Wicked! 😛

Leave a Reply

