sleepytime.

Friday nights for me are my nights to decompress. Lately, it seems like my week nights consist of an hour at the gym, working for Story Photographs, and/or meeting my run club for 3 miles and a drink. So Friday nights I like to do absolutely nothing. Case in point, tonight I came home, ate some dinner, set up the present I bought my apartment (an Amazon Fire Stick), and watched 3 episodes of Drunk History. I followed that up with putting freshly washed sheets on my bed and watching an episode of Parks & Rec. Clearly, I have adulthood figured out.

Anyway, I was hunkering down for the night when I got a message from my sister saying, “FYI I check your blog every day for new material.” Yeah…she’s at the beach with her best friend and she’s worried about this little space of mine on the interwebs. I promised to write something this weekend, then made a few notes of what I could write about and put my phone away.

Then it hit me. I should share my sleepytime playlist with you. You mean you don’t have a sleepytime playlist? Well…I cannot go to sleep without mine. I’m sure it’s completely psychological, but I can’t remember a time in recent history (college years to present day) that I have slept well without music in the background. Heck, I even slept with earbuds in at Disney and sleeping with earbuds in is not the most comfortable thing in the world. I blame my parents for this. I remember being little and knowing they were going to bed because I could hear the Bose radio fire up from my room and Delilah (of the “love someone tonight” fame) was playing love songs that sung my parents to sleep. The only exception to this was when we were at Myrtle Beach for our summer vacations and it was Leah, the country version of Delilah that was patching up the hearts of listeners who called in.

Without further adieu, I present to you the carefully curated sleepytime playlist:

https://open.spotify.com/user/l_whitt/playlist/7HRirAeTY1TFMPSxAgTKRX

(I will embed this code later. Spotify is being extremely difficult at the moment and my computer hates me. What I thought would take 20 minutes has now taken an hour and I’ve fallen asleep in the process twice…whoops).

Leave a Reply

