the martian.

I was minding my own business a few weeks ago when this trailer happened into my life:

Looks pretty interesting, right? I thought so, too. (Plus Matt Damon, hello handsome). After a little investigation, I discovered it is a book by Andy Weir.  Luckily, I happened to put myself on the waiting list at the Wake County Library before it got out of control, and checked it out last weekend.

I was  a little skeptical at first because it was a sci-fi novel about Mars. It had the potential to be incredibly boring, so with that in mind, I took it with me Wednesday morning while I waited for my roommate to have blood work done. I figured, hey, if I was going to sit in a boring doctor’s office, I might as well start on a potentially boring book.

Seven chapters later, I was disappointed I had to put my little sci-fi book away and go to work. It was mesmerizing. It probably helped that the majority of the book was in the form of journal logs from the main character. I couldn’t help but turn the pages with bated breath as I read what was happening on Mars.

I’ll stop while I’m ahead so I don’t give away the ending. I’m terrible about spoiling shows, movies, and books. Needless to say, I can’t wait until November when the movie comes out. Who’s with me?!

One thought on “the martian.

Leave a Reply

