ncma summer films 

The North Carolina Museum of Art is one of my favorite places in Raleigh. It’s like walking into a peaceful world in the middle of the hustle and bustle that is the capital city. I’ve been to visit the exhibits, to take photos, and to just wander around the trails for a little exercise. The trail is by far my favorite. You can walk, bike, and run for miles alongside people laying in fields reading and art sculptures scattered along the property. Last night, I discovered something even cooler. They show films outside in the amphitheater on summer evenings. 

 

feeling kate spade-esque in my play on patterns

 
Carly and I packed picnic snacks and headed out there last night to see To Kill a Mockingbird. Kudos to the NCMA for seeing an opportunity (like the release of the highly anticipated, highly debated Go Set a Watchman this week) and taking advantage of it. The place was packed – I was glad we got there early and claimed a good spot. The people watching was highly entertaining, and it wasn’t as hot as I thought it would be. And as Carly said, it would be a cool date spot for all ages. For $5, you really can’t find a better deal on a weekend night. 

They’re showing films through the rest of the summer – everything from The Theory of Everything to Big Hero 6 (for the kiddos) to the Sound of Music (maybe I can get my sister down here for that…). I know Carly and I have a date with Chris Pratt in September when they show Guardians of the Galaxy. #swoon 

Leave a Reply

